Friday, December 19, 2014  Proportional Viewing Options. 800 1024 1280 1440 1680 1920 Currently Viewing - 1024 ! Port Stanley Weather
News Regional National Events Weather Community Directory Sports Real Estate Classifieds Photos Video Contact Us
Port Stanley Quaker Barrel Century 21 First Canadian Corp Flowers by Rosita click here to view Beach Side Cottage Rentals
News / News
More News   -  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 More News, 364 available.
IPM Scholarship Recipients Announced
  by Katherine Thompson  
 Invasive Species Enforcement
 Missing Swimmer in Port Burwell
 Move Over Law Charges Highest Since 2010
 A Different Perspective
 IPM Scholarship Recipients Announced 
 Government Helps Youth in Pedorthics Get Jobs
 Lambton OPP Investigating Armed Robbery
 OPP Arrest Second Suspect in Patrol Boat Fire
 Several New Magazines Available by Free Download
 Council Cannot Change Dexter Line Speed Limit
 Fail to Remain Collision
 FPT Ag Ministers Focus on Emerging Opportunities
 2014 Bottle Drive
 Anglers Fined for Over Limits of Yellow Perch
 Violations Net $40,000 Fine and Court Order
 New System to Document Canadian Honey Bee Health
 1st Installment of Federal Gas Tax Fund Released
 Suspicious Death Investigation
 $30,000 Fine for Sale of Wild American Ginseng
 Butterfly and Dragonfly Festival
 Experience Elgin County This Summer and Win
 St Thomas Man Charged with Child Pornography
 A Delicious Partnership in the Making
 Four Charged During OPP Marine Patrols
 Elgin Women in WW 2
Duncan McPhail, Warden David Marr, Marenda Schipper, Scott Speers, Dennis Catt

Central Elgin, ON: The County of Elgin is pleased to announce that the 2014 recipients of the International Plowing Match (IPM) legacy scholarship have been selected. The successful applicants are Ms. Marenda Schipper of Malahide, and Mr. Dennis Catt and Mr. Scott Speers both of Central Elgin.

The program was launched by a committee formed by Council, staff and members of the 2010 Elgin County IPM to award a County female and male student a $2,500 grant each to assist them in their agriculturally-related studies in college or university. Ms. Schipper will be awarded $2,500 as the top female applicant. The committee felt that Mr. Catt and Mr. Speers were equally deserving of the scholarship and as a result, they will each be awarded $1,250.

"The 2014 winners will serve as excellent ambassadors on behalf of the County as they pursue their respective programs in agriculture," said Warden David Marr.

Both Ms. Schipper and Mr. Speers are pursuing a Bachelor of Commerce degree in Food and Agricultural Business from the University of Guelph and Mr. Catt is pursuing a Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture, also from the University of Guelph.

The scholarships are awarded by a reviewing committee of Warden David Marr, 2010 IPM chairperson Duncan McPhail and the County's Director of Community and Cultural Services, Brian Masschaele.

"Agriculture is the backbone of Elgin County's economy," said Duncan McPhail. "This scholarship will help our youth pursue agriculture as a career and ensure that the industry remains strong in the future."

The criteria and application form may be accessed by visiting the County's website at:

Friday, December 19, 2014 | Welcome Guest! | Login | Home | Terms of Use | RSS Feeds
World's 1st Proportional Viewing News Web Site. February 5, 2008. Copyright ©
Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright © 2004 - 2014 Port Stanley All Rights Reserved ISSN 1718-8695